Best New Releases: Jan. 14 2017

Superorganism – Everybody Wants To Be Famous

2017’s sensational “supergroup” (not Brockhampton), Superorganism have re-appeared recently with a new single for their upcoming, self-titled debut album. Superorganism has proven to be as interesting as they are enigmatic since releasing their first single in early 2017, only to have it promptly erased and replaced with two other equally weird songs. This latest teaser is worth checking out if only to see the band’s latest esoteric announcement.

Khruangbin – Friday Morning

With their latest single, Khruangbin, which means airplane in Thai and gibberish in English, offers a portal to more tropical climates. The trio found their unique slow-funk groove whilst recording in a barn, deep in the recesses of the USA, Texas. Fortunately, they don’t sound anything like Jeb Bush. Play this one as you relax at Sunday morning brunch.

Shame – Songs of Praise

This exciting punk-rock album is everything you need to conquer the blues incited by the new semester in a wintery wasteland. With ideas taken from a wide group of the greats in 80’s indie rock (Minor Threat, Joy Division), this highly anticipated record will take you back to a time when guitars were king and vocals were deep, growly and mean.


Other Notable Releases:

Dua Lipa – IDGAF


BORNS – Blue Madonna


Troye Sivan – My My My!


Jay Rock, Kendrick Lamar, Future – King’s Dead


Sylvan LaCue – Apologies in Advance


Anderson East – Encore


Camila Cabello – Camila


Maxo Kream – Punken


Jorja Smith – Let Me Down


Panda Bear – A day with the homies

Only available on Vinyl (like…whoaa)


– Ellen Ban Spaak and James Ford